Prof Doyin Salami to chair Buhari’s newly formed Economic Advisory Council

Doyin Salami

President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed Prof Doyin Salami to to superintend the constituted Economic Advisory Council (EAC) as chairman.

A statement by the Special Adviser on Media and publicity to the president, Chief Femi Adesina, Dr. Mohammed Sagagi will serve as the Vice-Chairman of the Council.

Members include Prof. Ode Ojowu, Dr. Shehu Yahaya, Dr. Iyabo Masha, Prof. Chukwuma Soludo, Mr. Bismark Rewane, while Dr. Mohammed Adaya Salisu is Secretary (Senior Special Assistant to the President, Development Policy).

This advisory council, according to the statement, will replace the current Economic Management Team (EMT) and will be reporting directly to the President.

“The Economic Advisory Council (EAC) will advise the President on economic policy matters, including fiscal analysis, economic growth and a range of internal and global economic issues working with the relevant cabinet members and heads of monetary and fiscal agencies.

“The EAC will have monthly technical sessions as well as scheduled quarterly meetings with the President. The Chairman may, however, request for unscheduled meetings if the need arises.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here